Todmorden Mayor helps students celebrate success

Todmorden Mayor, Cllr Christine Potter, joined students at Todmorden High’s presentation evening to celebrate yet another year success for the school.

Cllr Potter congratulated students and staff for their hard work. The school’s Vice of Governors, Cllr Steve Sweeney, thanked the GCSE students for their hard work and wished the A level students good luck in their future studies.

As well as celebrating the achievements of students who sat their GCSE and A Level exams last summer there were a number of special awards recognising outstanding contributions to the life of the school’s community, including prizes for courage, altruism and supporting anti-bullying campaigns.

Todmorden High School Head Gill Shirt said: “This presentation is the culmination of years of incredibly hard work by our students who once again did our town proud, and I was pleased so many parents joined us to share in their children’s success.

“It is also an opportunity to thank our staff group who have supported our students every step of the way. This year we also rewarded some of our heroes who in so many different ways make our school the safe, happy and successful community it is.”

The full list of winners were:

The Mike Wardle Award for outstanding achievement in Product Design Dylan Ryder
The Dorothy Lapish Award for outstanding progress in languages Toby Wheadon
The Hudson Award for Outstanding Performance in Humanities James Gibson
The Jack Bednall Memorial Award for Art Megan O’Callaghan
The John McNair Memorial Prize for outstanding achievement in Modern Foreign Languages Lydia Stephenson
The Jack Pickles Anti-Bullying Ambassador Award Daisy Sharples
The Callum Regan award for courage and altruism Sophie Stiff
The Gillian Davies Award for Student Leadership Faye Norman
Outstanding Student Award Sohail Sajad
Outstanding Student Award Peter Bath
Outstanding Student Award Dana Abdullah
Outstanding Student Award Chloe Hart
Outstanding Student Award Lucy Atherton
Outstanding Student Award Lizzie Wrench
Outstanding Student Award April Robinson
Outstanding Student Award Bethany Roache
Outstanding Student Award Martin Marriot
Outstanding Student Award Ben Seddon